top of page

NEVER COUNT YOURSELF OUT

Today was unexpected. After a great meeting yesterday with Dr. Banschbach, Professor and Chair of Environmental Studies at Roanoke College, I thought I had my summer figured out-- I'd be working for Dr. Banschbach examining invertebrate diversity, while also working part-time at my restaurant job. The prospect of contributing to Dr. Banschbach's research was daunting, yet thrilling.

All this excitement turned to a grand soup of emotions, today, when I was informed I had been selected as one of two interns to work for the Department of Invertebrate Zoology at the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History this summer. Between the excitement for this incredible opportunity, the despair of leaving my family pets (again!), and the panic of finding a home for the summer, in Northern Virginia, on such short notice, one could say my heart was racing.

This was a learning moment for me. I had found this opportunity in early May and immediately counted myself out. I thought, how could a first year student ever compete with upperclassmen, and even recent graduates! After long talks with my roommate, my mom, and one of the greatest mentors of all time (Amanda Sills) I agreed to at least apply- if not to actually get the internship, but to at least get experience applying. It took some resume updating and self-reflection, but by the application deadline I'll be darned if I hadn't submitted my best attempt at showing myself as the valuable member of the team they were looking for.

Now look at me. A nervous, rising sophomore interning with Smithsonian (literally one of the coolest things ever). This has taught me that anything is possible, as long as you are willing to put in the effort and reach for it.

Updates coming soon!

Information on my internship can be found Here

bottom of page